Mary Gladys Jones Volunteer of the Year Award

The Mary Gladys Jones Volunteer of the Year Award is presented annually to an individual who has made outstanding, sustained, and unselfish contributions to community service, and whose vital ideas and personal sacrifices exemplify the ideal of service to our community.

Qualities of exemplary leadership, vision, integrity, compassion, cooperation, and generosity of time and talents will guide the selection of a recipient. The recipient of the Volunteer of the Year Award will have the distinct privilege of selecting a qualified nonprofit organization to receive a charity award in his or her name. The selection of the recipient and the financial award will be determined by a Selection Committee.

Nominees should represent outstanding achievement in the field of direct community service – adult volunteers from the tri-county region who have made significant contributions in such areas of community service as youth, education, human services, community development, health or the environment.

VOY Nomination 2015 (pdf)

VOY Nomination 2015 (doc)

Past Recipients

  • 2011 – Mary Gladys Jones
  • 2012 – Albert Nurmi and John Leatherbury
  • 2013 – Alexis P. Dashield
  • 2014 – Dave Duitscher
  • 2015 – Barbara Whitehead