Foundation Seeks Nominations for Prestigious Henson, Morris, and Volunteer Awards

The Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore is accepting nominations
until September 21, 2012 for the Richard
A. Henson Award for Nonprofit Excellence,
the Frank H. Morris Humanitarian
, and the Volunteer of the Year
The award recipients will be
announced at the annual meeting and luncheon of the Community Foundation on
Friday, November 2, at The Fountains Conference Center in Salisbury.  The awards are considered among the most
prestigious honoring philanthropic service in this region.
TheVolunteer of the Year Award recognizes
an individual who has made outstanding, sustained and unselfish contributions
to community service.  This person should
represent outstanding achievement in the field of direct community
service—volunteers from the tri-county region who have given back to their
community in such areas as youth, education, human services, community
development, health or the environment. 
The Foundation will grant $1,000 to the Volunteer of the Year Award
winner’s charity of choice.
Established in 1989, the Henson Award is presented annually to a
qualified 501(c)3 nonprofit organization in Somerset, Wicomico, or Worcester
counties which has implemented a program or project that has made an
outstanding contribution to the well-being of residents of the Lower Eastern
The criteria for this Award
corresponds closely to the late local philanthropist Richard Henson’s
philosophy that achievement in the nonprofit sector should demonstrate an
entrepreneurial spirit and creatively utilizes resources to provide effective
and timely responses to critical or emerging community needs.  The Award includes a $5,000 donation to the recipient.
First given in 1992, the Morris Award recognizes an individual
who has made outstanding, sustained and unselfish contributions to community
enrichment and whose vital ideas and personal sacrifices exemplify the philanthropic
spirit of our community.
The late Frank Morris was a leading
local businessman and philanthropist and among many civic activities was a
former mayor of the City of Salisbury.  Criteria for the Award include qualities of
exemplary leadership, vision, integrity, compassion, cooperation, and generosity
of time and talents.  The Foundation
grants $1,000 to the Morris Award winner’s charity of choice.
Recipients are selected by a
committee of community residents from nominations submitted by the public.  Application forms for the awards are
available by going online to
or calling the Community Foundation office at 410-742-9911.