Frank H. Morris Humanitarian Award

The Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore established the Frank H. Morris Humanitarian Award to recognize Frank Morris’ lifelong dedication to humanitarian ideals and to perpetuate the high ethical, moral and professional standards and devotion to human values which epitomized his life.

The Frank H. Morris Humanitarian Award may be presented annually to an individual who has made outstanding, sustained and unselfish contributions to community enrichment, and whose vital ideas and personal sacrifices exemplify the ideal of service to our community which the life of Frank Morris represents.

Qualities of exemplary leadership, vision, integrity, compassion, cooperation, and generosity of time and talents will guide the selection of a recipient. The recipient of the Frank H. Morris Humanitarian Award will have the distinct privilege of selecting a qualified nonprofit organization to receive a grant in his or her name. The selection of the recipient and the financial award will be determined by the Frank H. Morris Humanitarian Award Selection Committee.

Nominees should represent outstanding achievement in the field of community service – volunteers from the tri-county region who have made significant lifetime contributions in such areas of community service as youth, education, human services, community development, health or the environment.

2014 Nomination Form (PDF)

2014 Nomination Form (DOC)

Past Recipients

  • 1992 – Anne W. Taylor
  • 1993 – J. Arthur DeHoff, Jr.
  • 1994 – Anna Emond
  • 1995 – George I. Whitehead, III
  • 1996 – Charles B. “Benny” Riddick
  • 1997 – Jack R. Nichols
  • 1998 – Virginia B.Layfield
  • 1999 – Paul Rendine
  • 2000 – Kaye S. Thomas
  • 2001 – Edward T. Taylor
  • 2002 – Lewis Casey Parsons
  • 2003 – James G. Barrett
  • 2004 – Richard F. Hazel
  • 2005 – Dr. Clara Small
  • 2006 – Hattie Miller
  • 2007 – Jack Lewis
  • 2008 – Jay Tawes
  • 2009 – William Gordy
  • 2010 – Donna Clark
  • 2010 – Celeste Savage
  • 2011 – Martin T. Neat
  • 2012 – Gerald B. Truitt
  • 2013 – Deborah S. Abbott
  • 2014 – Arthur M. Cooley

Award Committee

James Morris, Chair
Thomas Becker
Charles Dashiell, Jr.
Cecelia Dennis
Dara Hanna
Duke Marshall, Jr.
Kathleen McLain
Joseph Ollinger
Susan Purnell